Primark in Colchester

Heyyyyy!

So i’m going to tell you guys about one of my exciting/interesting day I had last week.

If you don’t already know I work for a huge company called Primark (or ‘Primarni’ as some people like to call it).

At work the week before last, we were told that some of us could have the chance to work in Colchester’s Primark for the day. So something that I wouldn’t usually do, I put my name forward to do it! I was really unsure whether to or not and felt really nervous whenever I thought about it.

On Thursday (09-02-17) I got up at 5:45 and got ready for my day. I left my house a little before 7:30 to get to the train station which is a 10 minute walk from my house to catch the 8:00 train to Colchester. There was a group of 10 of us from Primark who were going.

We arrived in Colchester a little after 9:00 and got a taxi from the train station to the high street where the Primark store was. I was in a taxi with Chloe, Morgane and Sylvia.. We had the funniest taxi driver ever; She was a local Essex woman. On our 10 minute journey, she was telling us different facts about Colchester and telling us where’s good to go for food and drink and things.

We arrived at Primark and one of the managers gave us a tour of what floor things were on, how we get to the staff locker rooms and canteen etc. After that we went to the main doors, where there were speeches happening. (I forgot to mention, it was the day of the GRAND OPENING!!!)

After the speeches, the doors were open to the hundreds of customers that were waiting outside. It was so good! There was local press there taking photos and writing articles.

col

 

Once customers had come through the doors, we all had to get to our sections we’d been allocated. I was on cash desks and so were most of the staff that had come from Norwich. It was so much fun working there because everyone was super excited that the store had opened (as locals had to travel about an hour to get to a Primark store).

We worked from 10:00 – 18:00, so when we finished our shift we got a taxi to the train station and got our train at 18:45, arriving in Norwich at 20:00.

 

That’s it for my exciting day, hope you enjoyed reading it.

m.

 

Leave a Reply

